2019 Human Development Report Advisory Board Members

The 2019 HDR Advisory Board is co-chaired by Thomas Piketty, Professor at the Paris School of Economics and the School for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences, and Co-Director of the World Inequality Lab; and Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Senior Minister and Coordinating Minister for Social Policies of Singapore, and includes government officials, academics and leading global development experts (see list below).

The 2019 Human Development Report will focus on understanding the dimensions of inequality most important to people’s well-being, and what is behind them. And the report will provide a comprehensive global analysis of inequality using a brand-new framework that looks: beyond income, beyond averages, and beyond today.

Members of the 2019 Human Development Report Advisory Board

Thomas Piketty (Co-Chair), Professor at the Paris School of Economics and the School for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences; and Co-Director of the World Inequality Lab

Thomas Piketty is a French economist and currently works as a professor at the School for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences (EHESS) and at the Paris School of Economics (PSE), and co-director of the World Inequality Lab. Earlier he has worked as an assistant professor in the Department of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Researcher at the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS). He has a M.Sc. degree in Mathematics from the ENS, and a Ph.D. in economics from the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) and the London School of Economics. He is the initiator of the recent literature on the long-run evolution of top income shares in national income (now available in the World Inequality Database). These works have led to radically question the optimistic relationship between development and inequality posited by Kuznets, and to emphasize the role of political, social and fiscal institutions in the historical evolution of income and wealth distribution. He is also the author of the international best-seller Capital in the 21st Century. He is a columnist for the French newspaper Le Monde.

Tharman Shanmugaratnam (Co-Chair), Senior Minister and Coordinating Minister for Social Policies, Singapore

Tharman Shanmugaratnam is currently Senior Minister in Singapore. He is also Coordinating Minister for Social Policies, and advises the Prime Minister on economic policies. Tharman is concurrently Chairman of the Monetary Authority of Singapore, Singapore’s central bank and financial regulator. Tharman chairs the Group of Thirty, an independent global council of economic and financial leaders. He also chaired the G20 Eminent Persons Group on Global Financial Governance, which in October 2018 proposed reforms for a more effective system of global development finance and for financial stability. He earlier led the International Monetary and Financial Committee (IMFC), the key policy forum of the IMF, from 2011 – 2014; he was its first Asian chair. Tharman served as Deputy Prime Minister for eight years from 2011. He was also Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social Policies for four years from 2015. Prior to that, he was Minister for Finance for eight years (from 2007), and Minister for Education for five years (from 2003). Among other initiatives, Tharman led the national ‘SkillsFuture’ programme, launched in 2014 with the aim of developing the skills of the future, and opportunities for life-long learning among Singaporeans.

Olu Ajakaiye, Executive Chairman, African Centre for Shared Development Capacity Building, Ibadan, Nigeria (Member of HDRO Advisory Panel in 2016)

Kaushik Basu, Professor of Economics and Carl Marks Professor at Cornell University and President of the International Economic Association

Haroon Bhorat, Professor of Economics, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Laura Chinchilla Miranda, President of Costa Rica (2010-2014) and Vice President of the World Leadership Alliance - Club de Madrid

Francisco Ferreira, Senior Adviser, World Bank’s Development Research Group

Janet C. Gornick, Professor at the Graduate Center, City University of New York, and Director of the Stone Center on Socio-Economic Inequality

David Grusky, Professor at Stanford University and Director of the Stanford Center on Poverty and Inequality

Ravi Kanbur, T. H. Lee Professor of World Affairs, International Professor of Applied Economics and Management, and Professor of Economics at Cornell University

Enrico Letta, Dean of the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) at Sciences Po and former Italian Prime Minister

Chunling Li, Chief Research Fellow at the Institute of Sociology of Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) and Deputy-Director of CASS Center for National Survey and Big Data

Nora Lustig, Samuel Z. Stone Professor of Latin American Economics and Director of the Commitment to Equity Institute (CEQ), Tulane University

Njuguna Ndung’u, Executive Director of African Economic Research Consortium and the former Governor of the Central Bank of Kenya

Frances Stewart, Professor Emeritus of Development Economics, University of Oxford

Access the bios for all the members of the 2019 HDR Advisory Board here.