Human Development Report 2016 ‘Human Development for Everyone’ to Launch 21 March 2017 in Stockholm, Sweden

Who:    H.E. Stefan Löfven, Prime Minister of Sweden
             Ms. Helen Clark, United Nations Development Programme Administrator
             Mr. Selim Jahan, Director of the Human Development Report Office

What:    Launch on UNDP’s Human Development Report 2016 ‘Human Development for Everyone’

When:   Tuesday, 21 March 2017, at 3 pm in Stockholm, Sweden (2 pm London /10 am New York)

The Human Development Report 2016 ‘Human Development for Everyone’ will be launched on 21 March in Stockholm with the Prime Minister of Sweden, Stefan Löfven; United Nations Development Programme Administrator, Helen Clark; and the Director of the Human Development Report Office and lead author of the report, Selim Jahan.

In past decades, there have been significant gains in human development levels in almost every country; but millions of people have not benefitted from this progress. Who has been left behind and why? The Human Development Report 2016 looks into these two questions. It identifies substantial barriers to development and recognizes that in every society certain groups are far more likely to suffer disadvantages than others.

The report also looks to what societies should do to advance human development for everyone. It sets forward policy recommendations at the national level and also looks at ways in which the global development landscape – particularly multilateral organizations – could be made more effective in the fight to leave no one behind and achieve the 2030 Agenda and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Join us in social media: #HDR2016

MEDIA  CONTACTS

UNDP Headquarters, New York

Anna Ortubia / [email protected] /+1 212 906 5964
Anjali Kwatra / [email protected] / +1 212 906 6389

UN DP Nordic Regional Office

Trygve Olfarnes / [email protected] / +47 94156028
Caroline Åberg / [email protected] / +46 70 547 93 42